Fall

Frost greeted me this morning.

granola.bars 012

But so did the Sun, and he stayed around all day. Maybe that was why I was in such a good mood today. Or maybe it had to do with this girl.

granola.bars 001

Meet Sadie, cutest, sweetest girl alive. But don’t we all say that about our dogs? She’ll be 5 months this Sunday, and she’s still scared of the camera. This was about as still as she would get.

Or maybe I was in a good mood because I got an early afternoon to work on some project work. And I might have made some half decent granola bars.

granola.bars 036

There is a granola bar sold at the hospital in their cafe that is TO DIE FOR. It’s sweet, gooey and chewy, with chocolate and raisins, and peanut butter I think. But it’s also huge, oily, and full of SUGAR. I think it might be worse than a cookie. So I needed to replicate it. This version is a good start, but they’re not perfect.

granola.bars 029

I’m not sure what to change, I’d like them to be gooier, maybe some more peanut butter? No egg? I’ll write the recipe, and if you have any advice, let me know!

Peanut Butter Granola Bars

Ingredients

2 tbsp margarine
1/2 cup brown sugar
1 cup peanut butter (natural pb, none of that kraft krap)
1 egg
1 tsp vanilla extract
2 cups oatmeal
3/4 cup chocolate chips
3/4 cup currants (I couldn’t find any raisins!)
3/4 cup nuts (I used walnut pieces, but I think sunflower seeds and pumpkin seeds would be wonderful too)

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 325*. Grease a regular sized cookie sheet.
2. Beat together the margarine, brown sugar, peanut butter, egg, and vanilla extract until a smooth mixture occurs.
3. Mix in the oats, chocolate chips, currants, and nuts until it becomes a cohesive mixture.
4. Pour mixture onto the greased cookie sheet. Use your hands or a spatula to press the mixture flat, equal in height to edges of the pan (I couldn’t get it to quite cover the pan, there was an inch or two without any.)
5. Bake for 20minutes, allow to cool, then cut into however big of pieces  you want. I made about 18 smallish ones.

So blog readers, writers, what changes do you think might be made? What would leaving the egg out do to the texture?

5 Comments

Filed under baking, Recipe

5 responses to “Fall

  1. Call me crazy but i wanted to give you a huge hug when i saw you posted the recipe for these fabulous bars- my GOD THEY LOOK AMAZING! and chocolate chips are in there too!!! ❤

    xoxo

    • Of course there’s chocolate chips!!!! No granola bars without chocolate chips. They’re definitely delicious, but just a smidge on the crumbly side. I’m thinking I’ll try out a liquid sweetner maybe.

  2. That sounds soooo good! We must think alike, last night I altered a s’mores bar and of course, added peanut butter to it!
    http://www.jennniferscreams.com

  3. I think if you take out the egg you risk them not sticking together. Although, there are lots of recipes out there without egg. I dunno. They seem somewhat reminiscent of the Agora granola bars 😉

    • The recipe out there? When you worked at agora did they still use the sweetened condensed milk? I liked the agora granola bars, but I’d like to make some that do not use the sweetened condensed milk. And I’d like to find a recipe with just a little less sugar out there.

Leave a Reply

