Foodservice: Half-way through

It’s Saturday night and I’m writing a blog post, why? What are you up to?

To clear up any confusion, I’m recovering from a crazy week of internship. This past Thursday was my Cafeteria Lunch Special: All Around The World. We had to create a menu around a theme of our choosing, and I wanted one I could find lots of recipes from. Mine looked like this:
English breakfast scone,
African Yam and Peanut Stew (<—Amazing by the way)
Quinoa Tabbouleh
Butter chicken
Thai Tofu Coconut Curry
Chicken Fajitas
Maple Sugar Pie

I really wanted to have some pictures of my menu items, but would you believe my camera decided to not work?! I know! It was tragic.

But overall it went well, a few glitches were to be had but mostly it was a success. The cook may have mixed up the curry pastes, so I had an emergency Save-On run in the morning and the tofu for the Thai curry (a green curry) was dyed pink, but c’est la vie!

It was an interesting experience, but now it’s past, my paper on it is mostly written (first draft anyway) and I’m on to the next project.

I’ve still been finding time for cooking. I made some roasted garlic hummus last weekend:

hummus 012

hummus 031

For Thanksgiving dinner I tried Angela’s Chocolate Torte.

hummus 039

Delicious! I mean, I could tell it was made from avocado, but honestly everyone else said if I hadn’t said “it’s vegan and has avocados” they wouldn’t have known. My one friend did, apparently because “her mom tried sneaking vegetables into desserts all the time.”

Now that I’m not so consumed by this project I hope to get back to a more regular blogging experience. So fingers crossed it will happen.

Happy weekend!

4 Comments

Filed under school

4 responses to “Foodservice: Half-way through

  1. I concur that that stew was AMAZING – is that the one you gave to me? Eric and I both loved it!!

    Ooooh the torte turned out AWESOME!! I have wanted to try making that torte. Was it hard?

    Hope you have a great Sunday. See you tomorrow 🙂

    • Yes! It was the stew I served you. And no the chocolate torte wasn’t that hard at all. The hardest part was measuring the avocado in a measuring cup. Slippery buggers!

  2. That sounds like a big menu to plan all on your own – but hey, at least it’s over now, right? And if it went relatively smoothly, then awesome!

    I’ve made a chocolate pie with avocado before, but chances are I wouldn’t serve it to my family for a holiday meal. I always pick and choose my audience for dishes like that – usually my friends. They seem to be more open minded.

    • That’s funny, it’s the opposite with my family and friends. At least here in Kamloops, my friends are traditional “junk food is the best food” people. But they’re still game for the most part. We also don’t take thanksgiving too seriously…

Leave a Reply

