A Tuesday Evening

Today was a long day. It started with my phone’s alarm going off at 5:40am, and that was not an accident. My intern partner and I had to be at Royal Inland Hospital by 6:30am so we could hit the road with our preceptor to head to Kelowna. In Kelowna we would be attending a group ordering session with our preceptor, and many other foodservice managers from across the Interior Health Authority.

It was a long day, both interesting and dull. Seeing how a health authority goes about ordering their food through one source for multiple different health service areas (IHA stretches across a large part of BC) is interesting. A meeting that lasts all day and talks about stuff you don’t know all the details about? Not interesting.

It was a day that needed an evening worth getting to. In my head while sitting in the meeting and trying not to nod off, I pictured a bag of fresh carrots I knew we had in our fridge. I knew what I wanted for supper.

soup&salad 001

Is there anything like ginger? Yum.

I chopped up some onions, garlic, ginger and carrots.

soup&salad 007

soup&salad 011soup&salad 012

Threw them all in the pot and let them boil away. 

soup&salad 016

My brother was helpful and made a salad to go along with the soup.

soup&salad 020

soup&salad 025

soup&salad 028 soup&salad 031

Looks like a delicious meal, no? It was, oh it was.

I’ve also spent a great deal of time in the kitchen at the hospital testing out the recipes for my cafeteria special. Man is it intimidating cooking in a facility like that! Very scary. But sort of exciting too.

How has your week been going?

5 Comments

Filed under school, Work

5 responses to “A Tuesday Evening

  1. I thought my week was going to go well, and then it turned to crap. But tomorrow I’m going to a concert, so it should even out.

  2. That soup looks delicious, as does the salad your brother made. Impressive.

    That is a long day, but at least there were interesting points right?

  3. Yum! That looks delicious, I’ll have to try it. I’m planning on making some soups this weekend so I’ll have easier grab-and-go lunches next week.

    See you tonight!

Leave a Reply

