T.G.F.G.F.

At first I thought I would call this post, Thank Goodness It’s Friday.

Then I remembered when my week really brightened.

It was actually a Thursday. The day was dreary, the first really grey day in two weeks. I was tired and the day had been long. I needed something. My mother had requested I bake something for a family friend currently in the hospital. I didn’t need the extra encourage.

Out came my Grandmi’s Purity Cookbook:

Brownies 003

The recipe I wanted was on the last page. Where it originated from I’ll never know. But, the first image of my grandma that ever comes to mind is her, white curly hair, a crisp pink blouse, tucked into a thick almost tweed-fabric skirt, stirring the chocolate and margarine as they slowly melted on the stove. I think this is one of favourite memories of my grandma, and one of the things that really makes me feel connected to her.

Brownies 007

Brownies 010

Brownies 016

Oh and how delicious these are.

Brownies 027

Chocolatey. Sweet.

Brownies 023

Ooey and gooey. Fudgie.

Brownies 029

After a crazy, busy, rough first week, Thank Goodness For Grandmi’s Fudgies.

5 Comments

Filed under food, Work

5 responses to “T.G.F.G.F.

  1. Even though your first week was busy and rough, hopefully it was also good 🙂 Chocolate seems like the perfect way to unwind for sure.

  2. A chocolate treat brightens any day! Are you going to share the recipe or is it a family secret?!

  3. Dora

    I want fudge!!! ❤ Bronwyyyyyyyyyyn!!!!! (Yes, it is me!!)

Leave a Reply

