Where have I been?

I have this habit of disappearing over the summer. It happened last year, it happened this year. Maybe it will happen again, who knows?

But I have to say, I was busy this summer, really busy. I took some courses, one that was full time (actually 8 to 4, five days a week). Then I went on a trip. Yes, well trip might be an understatement.

I spent six weeks in the gorgeous country of Kenya, teaching kids about HIV & AIDS:

SAM_0029

It was crazy, it was intense. It brought up so many emotions, I don’t think I could describe them all. In some ways I still cannot describe what I’m feeling. Mostly good, mostly. How can it not be, when I was out teaching kids as cute as these:

SAM_0025

It was a crazy trip, and I of course did a lot of traveling afterwards too. Saw some of these:

SAM_0383

A few of these:

SAM_0480

Some of these:

SAM_0506

And about a gazillion of these:

SAM_0436

And of course zebras, antelope, fancy birds, waterbufalo, but you know there’s only so much room for photos.

I don’t have a lot of time this evening for a long post, but I thought an update would be good, and I’ll try and keep blogging as I get started with my dietetic internship.

4 Comments

Filed under Volunteer

4 responses to “Where have I been?

  1. Yay! You are back! You damn well better keep blogging through internship – I want to hear all about it. Although, I’m sad you guys aren’t with us in class anymore.

    • I miss you guys too! I’ll do my best to keep up the blogging during internship. I think it could be really interesting to look back on, or for people to just see the struggles of a dietetic intern.

  2. Africa looks and sounds amazing!! I can’t wait to hear more. Maybe over a coffee date, soon? What is your schedule like?

Leave a Reply

