Kitchen Sink Granola

Well, it’s been a long week.

And it’s only Wednesday. My week has honestly involved a lot of me napping and watching Sex and the City. I know. How can that be a long week? Well, I’m sick, so doing anything is basically out of the question.

granola1

I did however, make granola. And maybe it’s because I was sick when I made it, and basically can’t stop eating it, that I’m still sick. Just a theory.

It was seriously a gorgeous day on Monday. But I ran one errand, and felt too exhausted to do anything. Except make this granola, based on granola we made in class one and a half weeks ago.

granola2

Do you see that sunny day?

It actually looks a lot like that now, and the courtyard outside my window is full of people happily enjoying some vitamin D.

Maybe I’ll join them.

But first I’m going to eat more granola.

granola3

The best part of this granola is how flexible it is, you could through just about anything in. Well, maybe that’s what’s great about any granola right? But just to give you an outline to work with, here is what I did.

Kitchen Sink Granola

Ingredients
1/4cup Honey
1/4cup peanut butter (or nut butter of your choice.)
1 tbsp coconut oil
4 cups large flake oats
3 tbsp ground flaxseed
1/2cup chocolate chips
1/2-1cup raisins
1/2-1cup almonds

1. Preheat oven to 325. (I accidentally had it on 350, and some of my granola is definitely more on the burnt side).
2. Melt honey, oil, and peanut butter in microwave so it can easily be blended together and poured.
3. mix together the oats and ground flaxseed, then pour in the honey and peanut butter mixture. Thoroughly combine until all the oats are coated (there will be a few clumps of granola goodness).
4. Pour mixture onto cookie sheet, and spread into an even layer. Throw in over for 10minutes or so. Remove, toss around a bit, and again put in oven for 10min; repeat another 1 to 2 times, until oats are toasted and fragrant. Allow to cool.
5. Once cool throw the oats into a bowl, and add in remaining ingredients; mix and try not to eat too many while you’re at it.

WARNING this granola is addictive. I’ve already eaten one jar, even if it was the smaller of the two jars, it is still GONE.
granola4

Yep it’s that good. And you could basically use any ingredients you have on hand; almond butter, peanuts, walnuts, apricots, dates, carob chips… Try whatever you like.

Now if you excuse me, I’m going to go and take another nap. All this writing has been exhausting.

8 Comments

Filed under baking, Fun

8 responses to “Kitchen Sink Granola

  1. I was just thinking about making some granola from the text book I have….now I’m gonna have to!

    • Try it try it! I honestly don’t even normally like granola (way too sweet!) but this is so good, and easy to make! Such a great snack (or breakfast or lunch ;)).

  2. I NEED to make my own granola. I always say Im going to, but never actually do it.

    • Definitely try it out! It’s a lot easier than it looks. I also like this granola because it’s not as sweet as a lot of the store bought stuff.

  3. I’m probably the only one who wasn’t amazed by the granola we made in class. It was alright, but it didn’t knock my socks off either.

    • Could granola ever knock your socks off? :p Do you have some great granola recipes? It’s not something I’ve ever really made before… just was never that into it you could say.

  4. What a great idea for granola! I could totally make this with what I have on hand! =) Thanks ❤

Leave a Reply

