Vegan Challenged

Well. This vegan challenge is off to a rocky start, let me tell you.

Let me put a disclaimer that says I actually ate vegan for Saturday and Sunday, and that was easy peasy. Might have included some polenta of which I got NO decent shots, but came from this cookbook.

CRW_1649_RJ

(Man even that shot is soooooo blurry!)

But well, yesterday there might have been a non-vegan mini muffin that I didn’t think about until I ate it.

And today well, if I was an all or nothing person I’d say today was a complete bust. But at the same time I sort of knew today wouldn’t go so well.

For one of my classes we’re placed with a community partner. Ours happens to be Urban Aboriginal Community Kitchen, and it is a group that gets together every week and makes lunch together. They try to stick to foods that are historically part of their diet. And if you guess fish, you were right.

I don’t even normally eat fish, but these salmon burgers, were amazing. Not that I have any pervious experience to compare it to, but still I imagine they were pretty good.

Sadly, I guess I’m “failing” at this vegan challenge, but I’m still gonna do my best (minus thursday’s class). And hopefully I can get some vegan related posts and recipes up later this week.

I’ve loved reading people’s recaps so far, it’s been cool to see what everyone says. (PS, Leah at Why Deprive mentioned the best dream about cheese in the comments on Life After Bagels)

4 Comments

Filed under food, Fun, lunch

4 responses to “Vegan Challenged

  1. All you can do is your best, that is what I am striving for. The important thing for me is to learn something along the way 🙂

    • I think I am definitely learning. I was reading some labels at my friend’s place (I went over for dinner, but brought my own). It’s amazing the hidden non-vegan items in things that there are!

  2. haha whats sad is I had more than one dream about cheese last night. I may have a problem. 🙂

    You already mentioned that you couldnt eat vegan for that class, and since I think education is SUPER important, I think you should get a free pass for that.

Leave a Reply

