Stages of Change

I really am not too sure what I wanted to write about this week. It’s felt crazy and not so crazy all at the same time. I had an interview for a great summer opportunity, that would entail me going abroad for awhile volunteering.

I also found out that there is a very good chance I could get advanced placement for my internship (meaning it would start sept 2011 instead of sept 2012).

But still so much is undecided.

And I don’t like that. I am not a “by-the-seat-of-my-pants” kinda girl. I really do like a plan more then anything. Even if I’m going to make a change to things or something I have to have some time to think about it. I bet one day someone will ask me to marry them and I’ll respond, “I just need to think about it.” Because I don’t really know if I have a spontaneous bone in my body.

Having so much of my future right now in other people’s hands is sort of driving me insane. That said there are some things I’m working on changing in my own life, but like everything else they’re going to require some thought. I guess if we looked at the Stages of Change theory, I’d often be found in the “pre-contemplation” or “contemplation” stage.

One other thing went really well this week, a yummy recipe I’ll share with you. IMG_1498

Cinnamon-Coco-Quinoa

1 cup Quinoa
1 cup water
1 cup coconut milk
1-2tsp cinnamon
1/4 cup raisins
1 apple
1-2 tbsp agave syrup

1. Gather ingredients.

IMG_1484

2. Through the first five ingredients, throw into a pot and bring to a boil. Lower temperature and allow to simmer until liquid is gone and quinoa is cooked.

3. Meanwhile core and chop the apple, through into a medium sized mixing bowl.

4. Put quinoa in the bowl with the apple and mix all together with agave.

5. Enjoy! This makes 3-4 servings, though if you’re REALLY hungry it could serve two as well.

I ate it the following day for breakfast topped with some almond butter. I think it would probably taste great even if you didn’t use coconut milk to make the quinoa.

2 Comments

Filed under Recipe

2 responses to “Stages of Change

  1. This sounds really delicious! I should make a monster batch for breakfast and eat it all week long.

    BTW – I bought that same quinoa from Costco. I cant believe how cheap it was! I love Costco.

    • Bronwyn Coyne

      Costco is so awesome for buying grains and such. I love it. And peanut butter. 😀 My parents definitely bought me four kg of peanut butter at christmas on my way home. Still haven’t gotten through one 2kg container. 😉 it’s close though.

Leave a Reply

