Sunny with a chance of Cocoa

Earlier this week we had one of those gorgeous fall days. For those you living in Vancouver, you know what day I mean. It started out normal; grey cloudy, slightly rainy, mostly gloomy. But somewhere around mid morning there was a break in the clouds and the sun burst out like an unexpected gift.

My morning ended up being one procrastination after another; culminating in an hour and a half long jaunt to get groceries – normally takes me about thirty minutes- and muddy knees. Why muddy knees? Well, I kept kneeling down for photos.

IMG_0809

IMG_0842

Not sure how many of these mushrooms might be of the edible variety, but damn were they fun to play picture taking with.

IMG_0859

This next mushroom was probably the neatest of them all, couldn’t you just picture a fairy or something just sitting atop? I wish I’d gotten a better photo, but this ain’t bad.

IMG_0865

After returning home from my adventures my rumbly tumbly informed me it was time for lunch. Although the sun was out it was a wintery fall day indeed, and my cold nose and chilled hands knew it was time for hot chocolate. Being in dietetics sometimes I feel weird about promoting “un-healthy” food, but if ever I had a food moto it would be everything in moderation. So here is what I normally do for a quick and not-so-bad-for you hot cocoa.

IMG_0892

Quick and Not-so-bad-for-you Hot Chocolate

1 cup of milk (whatever is your favourite, or you have around, I used skim)
3 TBSP cocoa powder
1 TBSP sugar (I love to use brown sugar, don’t know, just do.)
Pinch cinnamon

1. Heat half-a-cup of the milk in microwave for about 35 seconds.
2. Add in cocoa and sugar, then stir (I recently discovered that if you whisk with a fork, it mixes up awesomely and sort of fluffs up.). Add in rest of milk, stir a little more.
3. Heat some more, I usually do about 2 to 3 minutes, with a break at each minute to make sure it doesn’t overflow (because it sucks to clean microwaves.)

And voila, a yummy treat on a perfect fall day!

IMG_0894

6 Comments

Filed under food, Fun

6 responses to “Sunny with a chance of Cocoa

  1. You’re back! It’s a Christmas miracle 🙂

  2. We have a bunch of mushrooms that have just popped up in our back lawn. I wanted to get out there and photograph them, but the weather has turned so I don’t think I’ll be able to. Boourns!

    And I would argue talking about drinking cocoa is about promoting a normal, balanced lifestyle, which is healthy!

  3. Thanks for stopping my blog! Wow, what fantastic photos! Adding you to the reader now 🙂

Leave a Reply

