Recipe and Review

hmmm, a couple treats for you guys today! A review and a recipe! Ohhhhh I know!

So first up is a product review. Back when I was beyond busy and couldn’t do anything but pretty much cry because, well, I was that busy, the lovely folks at Dempster’s sent me some of their new products to review…

storm the wall!!! 018

storm the wall!!! 015  storm the wall!!! 017storm the wall!!! 016 

Oven Fresh Baguettes
– Come in packs of 2 loaves. Either multigrain or white. They’re partially baked when you buy them from the super market, and then you bake them for 8min (or 12 if they’re frozen) for a feeling of a fresh baked baguette with your meal.

I do enjoy them, and they freeze well, so for those of us who want something a little fresh but don’t have the time for bread, or aren’t patient when we have that fresh-bread craving, these work really well!

Of course I wanted to do something fun with at least one loaf before I reviewed them, but couldn’t think of anything. Then my teammates suggested a get together before our race on Sunday and while I was thinking of what to bring, this popped into my head:

Apple, Spinach and Cinnamon Crouton Salad

storm the wall!!! 028 

I started by baking up the bread: (From raw to baked)
storm the wall!!! 005 storm the wall!!! 007storm the wall!!! 021  
While that was happening I tossed the following into a bowl:

  • 3-4c spinach
  • 1/4c raisins
  • 1/4c chopped up almonds (could toast these if you want, I didn’t and it was good)
  • 2-3 apples
    storm the wall!!! 023

In a seperate microwaveable I mixed:

  • 1.5tbsp margarine, melted
  • 1tsp (or so) cinnamon
  • 1/4tsp nutmeg, or other spices that go with cinnamon
  • 1tbsp (or just under) sugar
    storm the wall!!! 011

When the bread was out of the oven and had cooled for a while I chopped it up into croutons:
storm the wall!!! 022 
I then dumped these into the bowl with the cinnamon/margarine mixture and tossed and stirred until they were coated. Popped them back in the over (in an oven friendly tray of course!) for 3-5min… And then onto the salad and voila! A delicious salad for any meal.

This served 4 people as a side dish.

It’s a very “flexible” salad, and number of toppings would do; but everyone loved the croutons. They were sort of like mini cinnamon bun bits on a salad. Yum!

2 Comments

Filed under food, lunch, Recipe, reviews

2 responses to “Recipe and Review

  1. I bet goat cheese would be a great addition to the salad as well. Mostly because I love goat cheese + spinach + fruit salads.

  2. whydeprive

    That salad looks so good!!

    I second the goat cheese idea.

Leave a Reply

