Finally Here!

vancouver-2010-mascots3-thumb-500x436-8995

Well it feels like Vancouver is the center of the world right now.

On Thursday night it became real when the Torch went through UBC. I was in my Wine Science lab, and got pretty excited when a guy (who had his laptop on) stood up and said, “The Torch is right outside, I’m going!” I quickly stood up “me too!” of course a good dozen other people ran out into the pouring ran that is Vancouver’s Winter. And it was awesome, no lie.

Last night was spent watching the Opening Ceremonies for Vancouver 2010. All in all despite a few hiccups I was pretty impressed. The lights were honestly amazing. Really beautiful, it was honestly my favorite part. I also really enjoyed K.D. Lang’s Hallelujah was really pretty.

OF course the day was a tinted with the tragic death of the Georgian luger (21 years old!). Apparently though they’ve made a lot of changes to the track (mainly trying to slow it down and create some safety pieces. The most disturbing part of this to me was that they kept showing the video over and over again all day. That doesn’t seem very respectful to me. (The luge is happening at this moment, I”m sort of scared to look at the screen!)

Still the atmosphere here is one of pure joy and crazyness. I’m probably heading out to one of the many free concerts that are occuring in and around the venues. Seriously, it’s pretty cool how much there is going to be to do here for the next two weeks, probably won’t be getting much work done!

Well going to go and enjoy me some lazy break time. Have a happy Saturday!

1 Comment

Filed under Fun

One response to “Finally Here!

  1. whydeprive

    The opening ceremonies were great eh? I still cant get over how amazing BC Place looked.

Leave a Reply

