2010 – One Month In

Well it’s just a typical Tuesday night – with one change. Instead of wasting my time watching Biggest Loser, I’m currently watching some sort of Lost Recap. OMG I watched this show the first season which was like eons ago. Unfortunately life prevented me from watching it in later seasons, and any time I’d catch an episode… well I was confused as hell. lost-logoThe show where you’ll be lost…

Anyway… on to today.

So you might have noticed that yesterday was not only a Monday but also a first of a new month: bring on February.  I can’t believe we’re a month into 2010 already… and I got to thinking about my new years resolutions, and how I had no idea if I was working on them or not…. So instead of just forgetting about them I decided to take a little look at how I’m doing.

  • Get more ENERGY.
    Er, definitely not happening. In fact my sleeping pattern is really crazy right now, it’s not good. I’m tired and my muscles aren’t rejuvenating themselves as fast as I would like. Anyone have any good websites/resources about getting sleeping patterns working?
  • Keep my grades where they are or higher!
    Well I think they’re about the same. At least judging from the one mark I’ve gotten back. I’ve decided to make this goal more structured: I want grades of 80% and higher (85% and higher is the ultimate goal actually). Having an actual number to shoot for makes it more probably something will happen.
  • Be an awesome prez (do some bossing around yo! 😉 )
    This is going pretty well. We had an awesome event recently, which I credit to my council and everything. Judging your performance as a leader in and situation is really hard. How much is you, and how much is everyone working together? I’d like to think it’s a combined effort by everyone. 🙂
  • Explore my creative side; maybe take a photography class (if I can afford it)
    The one goal I can say ACCOMPLISHED! I started a photography class last night, and even though there was a little technical difficulty for the teacher, I think I can say it will be nice to finally do something creative and push that side of me.
  • Live on a budget (OMG I am so poor right now, or will be when I pay my student fees)
    Sweet, this one I can also say I’m accomplishing. I’ve successfully (maybe a few slip ups) kept all my receipts, recorded totals each week and watched what I spent for the entire month of February. 🙂
  • Get my running mileage up to 1/2 marathon distances
    This too is a work in progress. I am going to actually sign up for a Half-Marathon I think, to fully motivate and commit myself to a training schedule and pattern. I’ve successfully been running 3-4 days a week. 🙂
  • Swim, bike, and strength train.
    So swimming and biking not so much. Swimming’s too far away, and biking… well it’s wet. 😉 I’ve been itching to break out the wheels, but it’ll be a couple weeks yet. Strength training has been happening though, I’m happy to say. In fact I’ve been doing enough ab work that I’ve noticed a difference in my torso. I just do a few moves everyday, and I’ve lost about an inch from the smallest and largest part of my waist. 😀
  • Do yoga
    hasn’t been happening at all. :p
  • Make actual meals (Means cooking once in a while)
    I’ve definitely been baking a little more, and cooking more too. 🙂 I’ve made a goal of baking once a week, as well as cooking a little. I haven’t really made any amazing cooked meals… but well, they’re better then they were.
  • Embrace life!
    This one too is on-going. Some days I’m super stocked on life. Some days I’m down in the dumps, totally unhappy and grumpy… and just a total all around not-fun person. But that’s how it goes. I’m definitely doing better this term at rolling with the punches.
  • So that’s how my 2010 is going. How are your 2010s going?

    5 Comments

    Filed under Fun, health

    5 responses to “2010 – One Month In

    1. Excellent resolutions. Best wishes especially with the running. The cold weather here takes a toll on my weekly mileage.

    2. My 2010 goals are so far, quite a fail. Lol. I still have 11 months to get my butt in gear so it’s okay.

      This month I’ve started keeping my receipts too! Getting ready for when I move out and really will have a limited budget. I’ve found that KNOWING I’ll have to keep the receipt is helping me to not buy unnecessary things. Sorta. 😉

    3. Hmmm….well, it’s hard to say how my 2010 is going. Everything has just been plain crazy, with work, the Olympics, new classes, etc. I’m still sorting out something that resembles a schedule. I think I’ve done an OK job of getting in exercise, but work really throws that for a loop. If only school wasn’t so damn far away, I could have those 3 hours to get the gym in!

    4. you’re doing awesome so far . . . I think I need a check back on mine too!

    5. Pingback: Make Me Smile « Will Work For Peanut Butter

    Leave a Reply

    