Warm and Cozy

There’s something about being in my growing-up-home that leaves me warm and fuzzy. I had a great weekend cooking for everyone. 😀 Yes I’m a weird student who comes home and cooks for her family.

Breakfast was delicious; the egg was definitely fresh and organic (there’s a huge difference between a regular and an organic egg…). The toast was a piece of bread from a bakery in Chase, soft and perfect.

IMG_9223

My parents inherited a crazy amount of nice china… so they use it all the time now. Nothing wrong with using the good stuff, makes every meal special. 😉

Plus another piece of toast + honey + margarine.

IMG_9226

I went to Red Robin with a couple of my bestest friends. We had the Towering onion rings, and I had an Apple Harvest Salad with a poppy seed honey mustard dressing. Seriously amazing dressing… I didn’t snap any photos because they would have seriously made fun, since I had an extra-large chunky camera… (And eos Rebel, which will soon be mine!)

Later that day I did some baking staring this little bean:

IMG_9236

Let’s just say it wasn’t the main meal I was making. 😉

Then I got started on dinner, on the menu:

  • Gouda and Lentil soup. (recipe)
  • Mandarin Orange and Spinach salad with candied walnuts.
  • Bun from Cob’s Bread (didn’t have time to make my own….)
  • And the dessert!
  • Some amazing Riesling wine from a BC winery.

IMG_9238

So good. And what happened to those black beans?

IMG_9243

Brownies!!!! I remembered reading about Black Bean brownies I don’t know when, and today I’ve decided to try it. (jeese I’ve been in a brownie mood…).

Recipe was from here.

The crappy photo doesn’t do them justice! Right now I’m chilling here waiting for my bff (Did I just write that?) to come over for some lovely waffles. Then I’ll be off to catch a bus to take me home back to Vancouver. I kept catching myself calling Vancouver home, hmmmmm.

I’m off, I meant to get some studying in, but it’s not gonna happen… Something to do for the bus I suppose.

3 Comments

Filed under baking, Breakfast, Dinner

3 responses to “Warm and Cozy

  1. Liz

    I cook for my parents too! I’m always like, “What college kid goes home and cooks for their parents?” Haha, I guess you and me!!

  2. Lizzy

    I’ve been meaning to make black bean brownies. last night i had the urge to bake, which doesnt happen often and i wish i would have made these! they look awesome!

    http://saladdiva.wordpress.com

  3. Cooking for the family is fun, especially if they are receptive and willing to try what you make. I have problems with that around here – my dad isn’t so open to new eats.

    I have had black bean brownies on my “to make” list for years. Crazy I have never tried them out yet.

Leave a Reply

