Me No-likey!

Hey all! Sorry to be so MIA, but I just haven’t had anything really interesting to write about lately. Till this happened to me at lunch…

IMG_2879

Hmmm, you think, looks like just some ordinary PB and banana on toast. Delicious? Weird? Not really…

Well folks, this is it. This is the weird bit. I hate bananas. Ok hate is a strong word, but since I can remember I could not consume a banana unless it was in a baked good. Or mashed into non-existence in oatmeal. Or blended to soupy perfection in a smoothie. 

But today I was thinking about bananas and at lunch I noticed half a banana I had laying around left over from yesterday’s oatmeal and I just thought maybe… So I took a thin slice and tried it. Chomped down, chewing and tasting, not bad not bad. I swallowed; low and behold, my world didn’t end!

See, when it came to bananas my dislike was entirely a texture thing, not a taste thing. So while I loved bananas in breads or oatmeal, I could eat just a plain banana.

This my friends is the official end of my picky eating habits. Very sad indeed.

I know I’m not alone in my history of being a picky eater. In fact many kids are picky eaters. Apparently this term has a name: neophobia (the fear of trying new and unknown things). Apparently it can take up to 16 times before a kid will try something new. That means you’ll have to place the food in front of the kid at 16 meals before he or she will even take a bite.

My parents were pretty good with my picky eating, making sure I had my “not icky tomato sauce” (ie plain, no meat or other veggies in the sauce) or my plain cheese pizza.

I honestly didn’t grow out of my picky eating until I became vegetarian when I was fifteen. I then started to eat a few more vegetables (I’d always loved a select few, but there were a lot I never ate). Even eggs came back on my menu after a bit. Seriously it’s funny how something considered a restrictive diet by some really expanded what I ate over all.

Now I’m not afraid of any foods really. And I don’t eat meat now entirely out of habit; I seriously have no want to eat meat. Ok occasionally the bacon frying smells really good, but it doesn’t make me want to eat it. The only food I can really think that I don’t like is fish. There’s just something about that fishy smell that’s really off puting for me. I don’t know why.

Well I really should be off. I have a great afternoon ahead of me:

IMG_2876

As a part of my “get back on track” I’m trying to also get back into a productive groove (I do have a pending midterm next week! It seems I’m not the only one in a back on track mood. Angela at Oh She Glows is getting back on track. And even my friend Marianne has started trying

1 Comment

Filed under eating, food, lunch, school

One response to “Me No-likey!

  1. Hey, I feel you about the banana thing. You’ll never see me eat a banana on it’s own – I don’t enjoy it. They need to at least join some PB to be acceptable in my world. I’m actually like that with alot of foods – I’ll eat pretty much anything, but some things need to be prepared in certain ways, otherwise they don’t cross these lips. The only thing I can think of that I will not eat is olives. Blech.

    Oh, and fish shouldn’t smell fishy when you eat it – if it does, it’s not fresh 😉

Leave a Reply

