Weighing In

There have been a few posts recently that have really hit a chord with me. Today the post that really got me thinking was Annabel’s post on The Scale. Kath over at Kath Eats mentioned Intuitive Eating, and how she’s gained a few but it’s all good because she’s healthy and enjoying life. Even Cailtin over at Healthy Tipping Point recently wrote about how she’s been struggling with the healthy lifestyle.

And well, the reason this hit home with me is because I too have been struggling.

I’ve said it before I am a stress eater. And recently it’s been getting to me. And I could literally feel myself getting bigger (haha, ok, maybe not). But seriously pants and jeans have been feeling tighter. Then today in my Food Assessment class we had an anthropometric lab. This is where you weigh yourself, take your height, do body fat measurements, etc. etc.

I was nervous for a little bit. Me and the scale we have history, and hey, it ain’t so good. I weigh myself maybe four times a year. I trust measuring my waist, hips, etc way more. I was nervous because there was a time in my life when stepping on the scale would literally send me into a crazy binge. I would try unsuccessfully to starve, inevitably binging loads, then see a gain on the scale and binge some more. Not a pretty sight, I assure you.

I stepped on it today and.

Well, it was heavier then this summer, but only by four pounds. Not as horrible as I’d thought. And well, it just confirmed what my body was already telling me. And the world didn’t come crashing down. I didn’t feel shame, or sadness, or anything. I went, bummer, but hey this is something I can easily do something about.

And I already have. Want to know what I’ll be doing?

I’ve started recording what I eat. It would be smashingly good of me to take pictures of all my meals and put them up, but for some reason I suck at that. 😉
I’m focusing on eating because I am hungry, not because it’s lunch, breakfast, dinner, or because I should be eating. My worst habit? I sometimes eat when I’m not hungry out of fear I will be hungry. You know diet websites sometimes say things like pack a snack so you won’t get hungry? I can’t deal with that. I end up being like uber full for an entire day. Being hungry is ok. Jeese.
Also working on a 10k training plan (Finishing it, my 10k is November 15th! yikes!) then a 1/2 marathon training plan, which basically starts the week of the 10k. And I’d like to get cycling some more.

But yeah, that’s about it. It’s going to be rough when finals hit, and I’m going to try and come up with a plan for that, but I can’t really. 

How will I measure my progress? With a tape measure and  the scale. Yep. I think I can deal. If ever I can’t, I won’t, it’s that easy. Besides, as much as I’d like to lose those four pounds by christmas, school is ultimately my priority, and that’s the way it is.

Anyway, on to some pics of my dinner, because it was delicious:
IMG_2831
Yellow rice (brown rice, tumeric, cinnamin and raisins, sooooo good!) Baked tofu, and some steamed veggies. Yum yum. Seriously the rice, so good: 1/2c rice, 1/2c raisins, 1tsp tumeric, pinch cinnamon (adjust spices to your liking). Throw it all in a pot cover with boiling water, stir and simmer until rice is tender. 🙂

I also finished with a shot of chocolate chips:
IMG_2832
It’s all about portion size after all, isn’t it? 😉

7 Comments

Filed under Dinner, eating, Fun, school

7 responses to “Weighing In

  1. Lizzy

    sometimes i find that i’m a stress eater too. life gets at you sometimes, and i think we all handle it differently. Especially at the holidays i find that is when i gain a little bit of weight, but am good about getting it off after! its so odd how it can just come and go sometimes!

    http://saladdiva.wordpress.com

    • Exactly. I’m the same way. Even now, I really just feel less stressed, and I’m getting more sleep, etc. etc. I can already feel my good eating habits coming back and the weight slipping away (hopefully!).

  2. I’ve never been a scale person, however I did have a sucky moment on the scale at the gym last night. But then I remembered the excessive pizza and beer weekend two nights in a row. And the stress eating while studying. Most of all I feel crappy from eating crappy food and the scale just told me hey, watch it sister!

    • Pretty much the same deal. I’d been eating too much lately and just felt it… you know? So the scale was just like, hey girl don’t live in denial. 😉 It just reinforces what I’d already been feeling.

  3. Liz

    I’ve noticed that a lot of bloggers have been dealing with their weight issues lately too. I really like your attitude about it. Very down to earth. I totally believe in you. I think simply writing down what you eat is one of the best ways to take control of the situation. Looking forward to seeing how your weight loss/healthier eating journey goes.

  4. Pingback: Me No-likey! « Will Work For Peanut Butter

  5. 4 lbs is definitely not something to get crazed over – just stick to eating to feel good, and you’ll be fine 🙂

    PS – I love the chocolate chip shot. I think I’ll have to steal that idea 😉

Leave a Reply

