On That Fitness Thing

I realized it’s been ages since I updated you guys on my fitness thing.

I only realized this when I was writing my birthday post last week, and mentioned my sports injury.

I think the last time I even mentioned my lack of running/what I’d been doing was back in… I don’t even know when. Maybe never.

So let me tell you the story, about a year ago in September I began having a heel pain, that led with a sharp stiff pain into the arch of my foot. It wouldn’t be always there, but it would sort of appear 5 minutes into my run, as I was warming up, or sometimes when I was slowing down. Or the pain would happen a few hours after my run, if I’d been sitting and moved my foot, it would feel painful and stiff.

I knew what it was.

But I didn’t want to admit it.

So I went to a doctor who only confirmed what was wrong with my foot: plantar fasciitis. It’s a pretty common running injury, and having seen my mom go through it, I knew that’s what was going on.

According to the doctor it was related to weak hip strength, so my physiotherapy related to that. I did physio for a few months, and then it was “up to me”.

In the winter, spring, and summer, I did a run here or there, but nothing steady.

Then I got home from Kenya, and a friend of mine made me go running with her. It was a simple suggestion she made, “hey we should go running sometime.” One of those suggestions you don’t really think are going to go anywhere. But within a week we were running together. And so I was running 2 x a week.

Still more recently my friend Amber has got me out running on the trails, which has made me want to keep at running.

So now I’m trying to run 3 x a week. Nothing long yet, barely 5km (3miles) but still, steady running. It feels great.

But it’s not just the running, fitness wise, that’s making me feel great.

I’m also doing Hot Yoga, at least 3 times a week. I started in September, and knew I’d like it, but now how much I’d love it. Kamloops Hot Yoga is a great studio, and I love the variety of classes I take.

I’m also doing swimming 2x a week, and I’m up to 3000m when I go, and I spend most of it trying to catch up to my mom. ;) 

Finally a year later I’m starting to feel fit again.

PS sorry for lack of pictures, not my normal style, I know.

2 Comments

Filed under Exercise, health

2 responses to “On That Fitness Thing

  1. Yay I’m so excited to have you as a fitness friend now. It’s nice to have someone my age who is into working out! I hope we can get in lots more runs together over the next few months and your injury stays away! :)

Leave a Reply

