Week’s End

That’s what today is. It’s been a normal productive week I would say. Nothing too spectacular has happened.

Thought on Wednesday I did spoil myself, by picking up a couple books.

IMG_1549

IMG_1552

Isn’t it pertty? Ok, you can’t see all of it. But I basically opened this book and drooled over the pictures, recipes, and layout. I also got The Joy of Vegan Baking, by the same author. I didn’t intend to buy two books by only one person, but really, they were just both so good looking!

I’ve already marked pages of recipes I intend to try.

Still I haven’t made anything from them yet, but I’ve picked up some ingredients I might be needing in the next week.

I did however hit up my kitchen today.

IMG_1543

I was browsing my many bookmarked sights, and stumbled across this recipe on Joy the Baker. I ignored it for awhile. I would move on with my day.

IMG_1536

But I would go back a look at the photos on her website. Just you know, looking. No harm in looking right?

IMG_1531

And I mean, sometimes looking turns into thinking. Just thinking about how easy it is to throw a chocolate bar into my cart. How I have some oranges that need using.

IMG_1541

Then you know, that chocolate bar appears in your shopping basket. It goes through checkout with you and ends up back home, and well, you know, you can’t not use it right?

These were good. Not healthy really (too bad orange zest doesn’t add all those benefits of an orange.) but oh was it good.

IMG_1548

I’m talking melt-in-your-mouth good. And I didn’t even use real butter, I can only imagine how delcious they’d have been then.

Just writing about it makes me want another one.

Well I’m off to… procrastinate some more. I might not be going out tonight but somehow studying on a Friday just doesn’t seem right.

What have you baked or cooked recently that’s been delicious? What are your weekend plans?

4 Comments

Filed under baking, food

4 responses to “Week’s End

  1. I was browsing for cookbooks at the library a couple of days ago (I like to try the recipes out before committing to buying a cookbook) and saw “The Vegan Table.” I ended up picking up three other cookbooks instead, but will be interested to see whether you like this one.

  2. Those look SO good! I love cooking anything that calls for orange or lemon zest. It makes my kitchen, and my hands, smell so good!

Leave a Reply

